Special Interests:
Wedding Traditions
Working in Ireland
Irish Citizenship
A site is included in WEB FEET only if our team of experienced educators, librarians, and editors think it is an outstanding site in its subject area.
Irish Foods to Your Door Boylesports.com Rent a Car in Ireland  
Government of The Republic of Ireland
Ireland is a parliamentary democracy. The national parliament (in the Irish language, Oireachtas) consists of the President (an tUachtar�n) and two Houses: a House of Representatives (D�il �ireann) and a Senate (Seanad �ireann). The Committees of the State are exercised by, or on the authority of, the Government.

The Constitution provides that the Government shall consist of not less than seven and not more than fifteen members. The Taoiseach (Prime Minister), T�naiste and Minister for Finance must be members of the D�il. The other members of the Government may be members of the D�il or Seanad, but not more than two may be members of the Seanad. The Government acts collectively and is responsible to the D�il.

The Taoiseach is appointed by the President on the nomination of the D�il. He must resign if he ceases to retain the support of a majority in the D�il. The Taoiseach nominates one member of the Government to be T�naiste.

The T�naiste acts in place of the Taoiseach if the Taoiseach is temporarily absent or becomes incapacitated.

The Attorney General, while not a member of the Government, acts as legal advisor to the Government and may attend Cabinet meetings. The Attorney General's tenure of office is normally coterminous with that of the Government.

The Taoiseach assigns Departments of State to members of the Government. Usually, each member of the Government heads one Department of State, but occasionally a Minister is responsible for more than one Department.

Ministers of State, who are not members of the Government, assist Government Ministers in their Parliamentary and Departmental work. The maximum number of Ministers of State is fixed by law at seventeen.